NEW 2023/24 LMPC Leadership

Introducing our new parent volunteer Co-Chairs for the Le Monde Parents Community!

Hi there! I’m Marisa, and my son Simon will be entering third grade in 2023/24. 
I grew up in the Bay Area and first moved to Portland in high school. In 2018, after many years in Brooklyn, I moved back to Portland with my family. 
Once upon a time in a galaxy far, far away, I was the research chief of Gourmet magazine in New York City. And in another galaxy even further away, I once worked for the Moscow bureau of the Los Angeles Times. Current professional projects include freelance copy writing, cookbook editing, and a fair bit of radio work for This American Life

My husband, Adam, is a middle school science teacher at Roseway Heights, and also the fearless parent coordinator of the annual LMPC Science Fair. In my free time, I love to travel. Having lived in Europe as a child and Russia as an adult, I know how transformative it can be to speak more than one language and understand the world in more than one way. 

Those of you who already know me know that I love to connect people – and to throw a good party! I’m looking forward to getting to know even more families through the LMPC co-chair role, and keeping our parent community strong and vibrant!

Hey there!
I’m Jacob, and my daughter Campbell will be entering First Grade in 2023/24. 

I’m excited to be co-chair of the LMPC alongside Marisa this year, building on the strong success of the previous years and continuing to forge the community of engaged, passionate, remarkable Le Monde parents into a winning alliance for the school and our kids. By day, my responsibilities include herding cats and documenting facts for NoRedInk as an Operations Analyst. By night, I fight crime in a cape and mask and spandex – wait no I mean I mostly spend my free time exploring Portland, playing D&D, reading and writing weird little stories about witches and forest children.

I’m originally from Wisconsin, spent a lot of time in NYC, a bit of time in Boston, and moved here to the southwest hills of Portland just before the pandemic, so I still feel very “new” to the city. Every day I am reminded that we are not here to do this alone, and my time with the LMPC is my way of helping out.

I am a person who loves to build community. It is also important to know that my French is very bad, but I am learning! I am eager to give my daughter access to the world that I didn’t have by giving her a worldwide perspective at Le Monde.